In a new series of videos, members of the Independent Science for Development Council (ISDC) speak of their career and how they’ve shared their expertise to help transform food, land and water systems during these challenging times of a climate crisis.

ISDC is a standing panel of impartial world-class scientific experts who provide independent scientific advice to CGIAR. The CGIAR System Council appoints ISDC members who serve in a personal capacity for three years to help contribute to the strategic and portfolio planning and positioning of CGIAR. Currently ISDC is composed of eight members.

Holger Meinke (Chair)

Adjunct Research Professor for Global Food Sustainability, University of Tasmania, Australia


Fetien Abay Abera

Professor of Plant Breeding and Seed, Mekelle University, Ethiopia


Andrew Ash

Retired Chief Research Scientist, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Australia


Chris Barrett

Stephen B. and Janice G. Ashley Professor, Charles H. Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management, Cornell University, United States


Magali Garcia

Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Engineering, Universidad Mayor de San Andres, Bolivia


Suneetha Kadiyala

Professor of Global Nutrition, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom


Nompumelelo Obokoh

Chairperson, Board of the National Research Foundation (NRF), South Africa


Lesley Torrance

Director of Science at the James Hutton Institute and Professor of Biology at the University of St Andrews, United Kingdom

More about ISDC: